Division faculty members named award recipients at NEXT Conference and Expo

fisher portrait 2
Fisher recognized with John H.P. Maley Lecture Award

Professor of Clinical Physical Therapy Beth Fisher MS '80, PhD '00 has earned the John H.P. Maley Lecture Award, which recognizes APTA physical therapists who have demonstrated clinical expertise and made significant contributions to the profession. 
"Dr. Fisher's level of excellence as a practitioner and clinical scientist have moved the profession forward through her work and has inspired others to collaborate with her, learn from her and strive to model her," saidProfessor Linda Fetters in her nomination letter to the APTA AwardsCommittee. 
During her nearly four decades-long career, Fisher has dedicated herself to developing physical therapy interventions to maximize neural and behavioral recovery in individuals with neurological conditions. Her research on exercise's effects on individuals with Parkinson's disease has led to a paradigm shift int he way the condition is treated, leading to earlier interventions than ever before to challenge impaired systems and change the disease's trajectory. 
Fisher is an internationally recognized expert in neurorehabilitation, having given more than 15 international presentations and 50 national presentations across the U.S. In2014, she was elected a Catherine Worthingham Fellow and, in 2015, she delivered the 14th annual G. Maureen Rodgers Visions forPhysical Therapy lecture. She holds a  joint appointment with he Department of Neurology at the Keck School of Medicine and is the director of the Neuroplasticity and Imaging Laboratory
Past division recipients of the Maley Lecture Award have included Kornelia Kulig (2013), Joe Godges (2007) and Carolee Winstein (2006). 
As part of the distinction, Fisher will deliver the Maley Lecture at the 2019 NEXT Conference & Exposition, taking placeJune 12-15, 2019 in Chicago. 
Landel Portrait

Landel earns Lucy Blair Service Award

Professor of Clinical Physical Therapy Rob Landel MS '84, DPT '96 has been recognized with a 2018 Lucy Blair Service Award, given to physical therapist members whose contributions to the APTA are of exceptional quality.

"Through Rob Landel's sustained leadership in clinical practice, service and education over the past 30-plus years, he has both improved and progressed the profession of physical therapy,"said Professor Linda Fetters in her nomination letter to the APTAAwards Committee.

During his career, Landel has served as a guiding force in developing national physical therapy residency programs, chairing the APTA committee that credentials residency and fellowship programs across the nation for three years. He is currently director of all four of USC's residency programs. 

In 2012, he was elected a Catherine Worthingham Fellow. He has also been the recipient of the CPTA's Royce P. Noland Award of Merit, the James A. Gould Excellence in Teaching Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Award and the Steven Rose Excellence in ResearchAward.  

Past division recipients of the Lucy Blair Service haveincluded Bill O'Grady, Cheryl Resnik, Chris Powers and HelenHislop. 

Landel will officially receive the Lucy Blair Service Award atthe NEXT Conference & Exposition,taking place June 27-30 in Orlando, Fla. 
Smith Portrait

 Smith receives Eugene Michels New Investigator Award

Assistant Professor of Research Beth Smith has earned this year's Eugene Michels New Investigator Award, meant to recognize new physical therapists who have engaged in independent or collaborative research efforts.

"Beth Smith is intelligent, has tremendous energy and a drive to make important contributions to the best developmental outcomes for infants and children," said Professor Linda Fetters in her nomination letter to the APTA Awards Committee. "Her research is innovative and is, I believe, providing foundations for specific types of intervention for specific problems." 

Smith's research focuses on development of neural control of movement during infancy and evaluates interventions for neural and functional development in infants with or at risk for developmental delay.

In 2014, Smith earned a prestigious Bill and Melinda GatesFoundation Grand Challenge Exploration Phase 1 grant to develop a tool for assessing atypical brain development earlier and more accurately. Last year, she received a National Science Foundation grant for a collaborative study with USC Viterbi School of Engineeringf or how robots might aid children at risk for developmental delay.She is the director of the Infant Neuromotor Control Laboratory.
Past division recipients of the Eugene Michels New Investigator Award have included Christopher Powers, Carolee Winstein and Samuel Ward.
Smith will officially receive the Eugene Michels New Investigator Award at the NEXT Conference& Exposition, taking place June 27-30 in Orlando, Fla.

Posted 04/17/2018