Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who should take USC continuing education courses?

    All licensed physical therapists and physical therapy assistants are encouraged to attend our courses. Some of our courses are also open to occupational therapists (OT). Courses intended for both a PT and OT audience will be designated as such in the marketing materials. USC is an approved provider of continuing education courses through the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA).

    How many continuing education units do I need for license renewal in the state of California?

    The Physical Therapy Board of California requires physical therapists (PT) to renew their license every two years.

    • For licenses that expire between 10/31/2010 and 10/31/2011, if the renewal is submitted prior to the expiration of the original license, 15 hours of the continuing competency shall be completed.
    • For licenses that expire after 10/31/2010 but are not renewed before the expiration date, the full 30 hours shall be completed
    • For licenses that expire on or after 11/01/2011, the full 30 hours shall be completed.
    • For first-time license renewals, if the renewal is submitted prior to the expiration of the original license, the continuing competency hour requirements shall be one-half of the normal cycle. For licenses that expire after 10/31/2010 but are not renewed before the expiration date, the full 30 hours shall be completed.
    • For each license renewal cycle, the licensee’s continuing competency hours must include two hours in ethics, laws and regulations and four hours in life support for health care professionals.

    PTs can satisfy continuing competency requirements in the following ways:

    • Participating in continuing education courses from an approved provider
    • Publishing peer reviewed articles, case study, or book chapter (maximum of 16 hours)
    • Serving as a clinical instructor for a student whose clinical experience is full-time and lasts at least 4 weeks (maximum of 12 hours)
    • Developing or teaching an approved college or continuing education physical therapy course (maximum of 16 hours)
    • Attending a Physical Therapy Board meeting (maximum of 8 hours)
    • Serving on a Board appointed task force (maximum of 16 hours)
    When will these continuing competency requirements take effect?

    The continuing competency regulations became effective on November 6, 2009. Further information about continuing competency requirements can be obtained from the Physical Therapy Board website: http://www.ptb.ca.gov.

    Where is the USC Health Sciences campus located? Is parking available?
    The USC Health Sciences campus is located less than 5 miles from downtown Los Angeles in the northeast part of the city. Most of our courses are held during weekends when parking is available in the Center for Health Professions (CHP) lot. If the CHP lot is full, there is 10 hour metered parking on the street that you are responsible for. USC is not responsible for any parking citations you receive from the City of Los Angeles.

    Click here to download a campus map.

    Do you provide refreshments during the courses?

    We provide continental breakfast and light refreshments throughout the day. Lunch is on your own.

    How can I obtain more information about the Evidence Based Practice course with Dr. Julie Tilson?

    The evidence-based practice is a unique course that can be brought to your facility or taught here at the USC Health Sciences campus. This course can also be taught using a distance learning format. A minimum of 10 participants is necessary to schedule the course. Please call (323) 442-3156 for more information.

    Who should I contact if I have questions about USC continuing education courses?

    Please contact us via email or telephone below:
    USC Division of Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy
    Continuing Education Programs
    1540 Alcazar St., CHP 155
    Los Angeles, CA 90033
    Phone: (323) 442-3156
    Fax: (323) 442-3288
    Email: ptconed@usc.edu